Four honored on NPSL’s All-Midwest teams

Head to the team store and get some blue and gold gear

Four FC Buffalo players have been honored by the Midwest Conference of the National Premier Soccer League.

Goalkeeper Andrew Coughlin, midfielder Andrew Ferguson and defenders Fox Slotemaker and Adam Lauko were selected by opposing coaches as members of the All-Midwest Teams last week.

Slotemaker (University at Buffalo) and Andrew Ferguson (Niagara University) were named First Team, while Coughlin (Canisius College) and Lauko (University of Wisconsin) were named Honorable Mention.

“It’s a true honor to be recognized by opposing teams as one of the best players from the NPSL’s toughest conference,” said FCB co-owner Nick Mendola. “Adam, Fox and both Andrews represented us with class and distinction this season and we’re proud of their accomplishments.”

A bit of trivia on each player named (though so many more could’ve made the list!)

— Slotemaker’s three goals from a full-time defender are the club’s single-season best.

— Ferguson is one of just five players to play in all 12 of our NPSLmatches this season.

— This season, Coughlin became the club’s all-time leader in wins and clean sheets.

— Lauko played in all three of our 2015 clean sheets (Fort Pitt, Lansing, Binghamton).

First Team All-Midwest
GK – Alex Ivanov, AFC Cleveland
D – Jack Hagstrom, Madison 56ers
D – Jimmy Fiscus, Lansing United
D – Fox Slotemaker, FC Buffalo
M – Cyrus Saydee, Detroit City FC
M – Bennett Kim, Indiana Fire
M – Andrew Ferguson, FC Buffalo
F – Andrew Whalen, Madison 56ers
F – Nago Mbengue, Indiana Fire
F – Sergio Manesio, AFC Cleveland
UTIL – William Mellors-Blair, Detroit City FC

Second Team All-Midwest
GK – Quinn McAnaney, Lansing United
D – Andrew Higgins, FC Indiana
D – Brian Winterfield, Michigan Stars
D – Austin Solomon, Erie Commodores
M – Karim Darbaki, Minnesota TwinStars
M – Phil Hagerty, Cincinnati Saints
M – Michael Tuohy, Fort Pitt Regiment
F – Daniel Deakin, Erie Commodores
F – Gideon Asante, Madison 56ers
F – Geison Moura, Minnesota United Reserves
UTIL – David Edwardson, Detroit City FC

Honorable mention
Tony Amolo, Wira Wama (Madison 56ers)
Tom Beck, Admir Suljevic (AFC Cleveland)
Josh Rogers, Seb Harris (Detroit City FC)
Andrew Coughlin, Adam Lauko (FC Buffalo)
Jack Griffith, Cody Schweitzer (Indiana Fire)
Stephen Owusu, Austin Dunn (Lansing United)
Daniel Mudd, Ricardo da Silva (Erie Commodores)
Dogara Zamani, Rodrigo Yanez (Minnesota United Reserves)
Tariq Akeel, Bradley Centala (Michigan Stars)
Dan Williams, RJ Best (Cincinnati Saints)
Daniel DeBlaere, Antonio Ayres (FC Indiana)
Brenden Alfery, Matt Fonagy (Fort Pitt Regiment)
AJ Albers, Peter Runquist (Minnesota TwinStars)